Adult beginner violinist: 7 months progress posted by Mariko Barra

Related Links

Violin Sheet Music
to download instantly

10 posts on this topic, 5084 views

Post a Reply
Adult beginner violinist: 7 months progress on January 14, 2016 @ 3:53 pmReport this post as inappropriate#1
by Mariko Barra Mariko Barra is currently offline. Click to send a message.

Hi, I'm an adult violinist beginner, self-taught for 7 months now and I'm absolutely enjoying everything about learning the violin. It's so exciting!!

I wanted to share my recording of Gavotte by J. B. Lully from Suzuki Book 2. Really enjoyed practicing this piece. :-)

Who has some feedback or comments for me so that I can progress and maybe some day become a good violinist?

Reply to this message by quoting it
Re: Adult beginner violinist: 7 months progress posted by Mariko Barra on January 14, 2016 @ 11:12 pmReport this post as inappropriate#2
by Giuseppe Cerciello Giuseppe Cerciello is currently offline. Click to send a message.

Hi Mariko . . you are doing just fine. My only advice is to found a "decent" teacher that can suggest technical books to improve your bowing and left hand technics.

Many teachers just let you practice pieces but that's not enough at all. As I said found a decent teacher that walk you true scales - bowing & left hand exercice.

Keep up with the good work.

gC

Re: Adult beginner violinist: 7 months progress posted by Mariko Barra on January 15, 2016 @ 11:39 amReport this post as inappropriate#3

Hi Giuseppe, thanks so much for commenting! :-) I would love to have a good teacher, but there is none where I live, not even in a 100km radius... And my internet is too slow to follow a skype lesson. So, it seems that I don't have an other option than learning by myself. But I am following some great teachers on YouTube, like Heather Broadbent, Todd Ehle and others.

I also practice scales and I am working on Etudes by Wohlfahrt, Hans Sitt and Robert Pracht.